The first weekend of the U21 playdowns is in the books, with the first 12 provincial spots already claimed. Carleton Place curling club hosted the men’s ‘A’ qualifier, where team Mooibroek won the A birth, and team Goodkey claimed the B birth. The women’s ‘A’ qualifier took place at the Renfrew curling club, where teams Auld and Wallingford claimed the A births, and team Gray won the B birth. The other 6 births were claimed at the Welland curling club, which hosted the men’s and women’s ‘B’ qualifier. A-side winners were teams Warriner and Coburn for the women, and teams Hart and Rooney for the men. The women’s B-side winner was team Kiemele, while men’s B-side winners were teams Poole and Massey.

The final 4 provincial births will be handed out next weekend at the U21 challenge round. The men will play at the Lindsay curling club, while the women will play at the Hamilton Victoria club.

Congratulations to the 12 teams who earned their place at provincials, and best of luck to those taking part in the challenge round.